How Undo Send in Gmail Works
⚠️ What to Know: Gmail cannot recall an email; it can only delay the sending of it with an option to cancel using Undo Send.
The Gmail Undo Send feature is convenient, but in some ways, confusing. To better understand how it works, here’s a rundown of Undo Send in Gmail.
When you select Send for an email in Gmail, you’ll immediately see a notification for Undo. If you choose this option, the email will not be sent to your recipient. Instead, it’ll reopen giving you a chance to edit the message or not send it at all.
While there are some email service providers, such as Outlook, that offer a true recall feature, Gmail is not one of them. And, no extension or add-on can retrieve an email after it’s delivered.
Undo Send in Gmail cannot recall an email in transit or already delivered to your recipient.
The most important thing to keep in mind is that Undo Send is not available forever. You have between 5 and 30 seconds to use it. If you miss the cancellation window, the email is delivered to your recipient as normal.
Google Workspace accounts: If you use Gmail with a Google Workspace account, you may have different email sending configurations. While Workspace Admins cannot control the Undo Send options, they may have message routing and security policies in place to manage the accidental sending of emails. Check with your Administrator for details.
Now that you have the gist of Undo Send in Gmail, let’s move onto how to use it, troubleshoot it, and ways to minimize the use of it.
How to Unsend an Email in Gmail
Whether you’re using Gmail on the web or your mobile device, you can unsend an email after hitting the Send button.
📌 Note: If you use a third-party email app like Apple Mail or Outlook, it can bypass Gmail’s Undo Send option.
On Desktop
- Look for the Message sent notification in the lower-left corner.
- Click Undo in the notification box.
- You should see a Sending Undone message and the email reopen.


On Mobile
- Look for the Sent notification at the bottom.
- Tap Undo in the notification box.
- You should see a very brief Unsending message and then the email reopen.
How to Extend the Undo Send Timing
To allow more time to unsend an email in Gmail, you can extend the Undo Send cancellation period. This option is only customizable in Gmail on the web, but syncs with your account in the Gmail mobile app, and is a per-account option.
You can pick from 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds for the Undo Send timing. The default is 5 seconds, but you can change it to 30 seconds easily by following the steps below.
- Click Settings (gear icon) and select See all settings.
- Go to the General tab.
- Move down to Undo Send and choose the timing in the drop-down box.
- Click Save Changes at the bottom.




Remember that once you change this, it’ll take a bit longer for your email to send. However, it’s worth it to have more time to cancel a sent message if needed.
Troubleshooting Undo Send in Gmail
If you’re having problems with Undo Send in Gmail, here are a few common issues with explanations and/or solutions.
❌ Undo Send doesn’t appear in Gmail: If you believe that the Gmail Undo Send is not working because you don’t see the notification box, this isn’t likely the case. Typically, if you don’t see the Undo option it’s because the cancellation period has passed.
- Extend the Undo Send timing in your Gmail web Settings to 30 seconds and be sure to look for the cancellation notification at the bottom of the screen for future messages.
- For immediate action, you can consider sending a follow-up email to your recipient explaining the error.
❌ Deleted email from Sent didn’t recall the message: As mentioned earlier, the system cannot technically recall an email in Gmail; it can only delay the sending of it with a brief option to cancel.
- This means that deleting an email you sent only removes that message from your Sent items. It cannot intercept the email or recall, remove, or delete the message from your recipient’s mailbox.
❌ Can’t find the Undo Send timing on mobile: Although you can use the Undo Send feature on mobile, you can only change the cancellation period for it in the Gmail web application.
- Log in on the web app with the same Google account as in the mobile app and make your adjustment. The new timing you select will sync with your Gmail account on mobile.
Minimize the Need for Undo Send in Gmail
Rather than relying on the Undo Send feature in Gmail, there are a few other tools you can use to ensure a smooth delivery of your emails.
Schedule Sending
Gmail provides a scheduling feature that lets you choose the date and time to send your email. This gives you that extra time you need to review your message and make changes.
- Click the arrow next to the Send button and select Schedule send.
- Choose a preset date and time or use Pick date & time to select your own.
- You’ll see a notification letting you know that your email has been scheduled.


Open the Scheduled folder in the left-hand menu to review, edit, delete, or cancel sending these messages.


Use Confidential Mode
If you send an email containing confidential information and the Undo Send timing has expired, you may open yourself up to detrimental consequences. To avoid this, you can use Gmail’s Confidential Mode to send emails with sensitive content.


This feature restricts your recipient’s actions on the email, requires an expiration date, and offers a passcode for extra protection. To learn more, check out our guide to using Confidential Mode in Gmail.
Confirm Before Sending on Android
A handy feature that appears in Gmail on Android is the option to confirm sending an email. By enabling this feature, you must confirm that you want to send the message or simply cancel it.
- Open the left-hand menu and select Settings.
- Pick General settings.
- Check the box for Confirm before sending in the Action Confirmations section.
For any future emails you send, you’ll receive a pop-up asking you to confirm sending the message.
💡 Tip: Check out more Gmail tips and tricks like this for improving your experience.
Eliminate Rushed Sending With Clean Email
While Clean Email cannot recall an email you send, the tool does provide smart features for maintaining a clean Gmail inbox. This helps reduce inbox stress and email anxiety, both of which can lead to the hasty sending of messages.
Unsubscriber: This tool allows you to easily unsubscribe from newsletters, marketing messages, and the like. You can unsubscribe in bulk and pause subscriptions when needed.


Smart Folders: These premade folders automatically filter emails for you. You’ll see folders for Top Senders, Travel, Online Shopping, Social Notifications, and more, with over 30 Smart Folders in all.


Clean Email is available for all IMAP providers with the same features on the web, Mac desktop, and mobile.
Conclusion
Using the Undo Send option in Gmail can help you quickly stop the sending of an email. Just keep in mind that this only delays sending the message, it doesn’t recall it.
Because you must be quick about selecting Undo Send, try to implement ways to minimize the need for the feature. Consider using a Gmail automation that schedules your emails or adding Clean Email to create a stress-free workflow.